Emma Approved.

Hello.

Remember how I got excited about the “Welcome to Sanditon” series on YouTube?  Yeah.  That didn’t turn out so great.  Boo.  Honestly though?  I did watch the entire series…but mostly just to see if a plot ever developed.  *Spoiler Alert*: never happened.  A plot, that is.  It was disappointing.

But this new one looks different!  It is called Emma Approved, and it features Emma Woodhouse, who is a “life coach and matchmaker”.  I’m excited for this one, because it looks promising…mostly because it seems like a plot is guaranteed just because it is based on a story that already has a plot!  Yay!  Check out the first episode here:

 

 

The one downside to this series that I currently perceive: Emma’s personality.  She is a little bit too self-assured…in a bad way, that is.  Which I don’t really like.  In all fairness though, from what I understand this could just be an attempt at the modernization of Austen’s original character of Emma, about whom she herself wrote the following:

“I am going to take a heroine whom no one but myself will much like.” – Jane Austen

And why would no one else like her?  Because, though time has certainly softened the perceived severity of Emma’s qualities, she was written as:

“…rather spoiled, headstrong, and self-satisfied; she greatly overestimates her own matchmaking abilities; she is blind to the dangers of meddling in other people’s lives; and her imagination and perceptions often lead her astray.” – Wikipedia, Emma

Of course, this is the wiki opinion on the topic, so take that as you may.  I have never disliked Emma (though I’ve known of Austen’s quote about her for some time).  In fact: I’ve always loved her character!  The Emma in this series though, is especially irritating.  That doesn’t mean it isn’t going to be a great series though!  I’m very excited about it.  Posting of new videos will be Monday and Thursdays at 9am pacific time.  Check it out and let me know what you think!

xoxo,

 

gigi

ps. What did you think of “Sanditon”?  Did you stick it out to the end?

Have something to say?

